TMN receives awards at state college media conference

The Index executives and staff pose with certificates signifying awards from the 2018 Missouri College Media Association Convention.
The Index executives and staff collected awards at the 2018 Missouri College Media Association Convention on April 7. From left to right, back to front: sports multimedia editor Jeremy Jacob, features editor Rachel Fechter, news editor Nicolas Telep, adviser Don Krause, assistant editor Johanna Burns, Editor-in-Chief Brently Snead, staff writer Ryan Pivoney.

Truman Media Network brought home 14 awards from the Missouri College Media Association Conference, including multiple first and second place finishes. TMN competed in division two against Webster University, Missouri Western State University, Northwest Missouri State University, Drury University and Missouri Southern State University. Six Truman State University students attended the MCMA conference Saturday at Lindenwood University, where they participated in journalism-focused workshops and attended an awards banquet with other student journalists across the state. Next year, the conference will be held at Missouri State University. Senior Brently Snead, The Index editor-in-chief, will serve as the MCMA secretary for the 2018-2019 conference.

The awards and recipients include:

  • Best Overall Newspaper — Second Place, The Index
  • Sports Writing — Honorable Mention, Kennedy Martin
  • Sports Writing — Honorable Mention, Rachel Steinhoff
  • Column Writing — First Place, Nicolas Telep
  • Entertainment Review — First Place, Gordon McPherson
  • Sports Photography — Third Place, Kennedy Martin
  • Sports Photography — Honorable Mention, Kennedy Martin
  • Feature Photography — Honorable Mention, Daniel Degenhardt
  • Nonpolitical/Entertainment Cartoon — Second Place, Annie Kintree
  • Information Graphic — Honorable Mention, Mariah Radle
  • Sports Page — Third Place, Rachel Steinhoff and Seth Wolfmeyer
  • Sports Page — Honorable Mention, Rachel Steinhoff and Jeremy Jacob
  • Features Page — Second Place, Rachel Fechter
  • Website — First Place, Truman Media Network Staff