Students pass ballot issues, elect Student Government president

Deanna Schmidt and Katie Alexander have been elected Student Government president and vice president for the 2019-20 school year. Student Government polls closed at 10 a.m. this morning.

Schmidt and Alexander ran uncontested on a platform of being “committed to community.” They were elected alongside seven voting senators, three senior senators, Allee Marshall as FAC chair and Mary Hansen as FAC treasurer. No one ran for student representative to the FAC, and the only competitive race was for FAC chair.

“Even though it wasn’t contested, we’re just really excited to get going,” Schmidt said immediately after her and Alexander’s victory was announced.

Schmidt and Alexander have their transitional meeting April 28 with exiting Student Government President Keaton Leppanen. After that meeting, Schmidt said they will begin appointing cabinet members and recruiting committee chairs.

All three issues on the Student Government ballot were passed. Students passed a $1 Student Activities Fee reallocation from the Collegiate Readership Program to Student Government, adding digital newspaper subscriptions to the CRP and an amended Student Government constitution.