TMN students win state-wide awards

Students host 88.7 KTRM's live Iowa caucus coverage last year. Truman students won eight awards from MBEA this year. Submitted Photo

The Truman Media Network tied for second in the number of awards announced at the Missouri Broadcast Educators Association meeting on Friday, March 26, 2021. Thirteen Missouri schools competed in 29 categories.

College of the Ozarks10

Truman State University – 8

Missouri State University – 8

Southeast Missouri State University – 7

Evangel University – 6

Missouri Valley College – 6

Northwest Missouri State University Student Media – 6

The following students won awards in five of the categories.

Audio > PSA, First Place, Go Vote, Annie Bensyl

Audio > PSA, Second Place, COVID Testing, Sam Tillman

Audio > News Story, Second Place, Truman Students March for Breonna Taylor, Rachel Becker, Trevor Grandin, Ryan Pivoney

Audio > Station Promo, Second Place, Vibe Check, Lesley Hauck

Audio > Station Promo, Third Place, We Didn’t Start the Liner, Connor Shelton

Audio > Special Programs & Podcasts, Third Place (tie), Conversation About Race, Annie Bensyl

Audio > Special Programs & Podcasts, Third Place (tie), Pageturner Ep. 2 – Dr. Laura Fielden-Rechav, Trevor Grandin

Multimedia > Website, Second Place, Truman Media Network

“It is exciting that some of our students were honored by MBEA,” TMN Board Chair Don Krause said. “These awards recognize the dedication of our students in producing strong content.”

Check out the award-winning podcast episode here: