Truman Athletics to induct two teams, two athletes into Hall of Fame

Truman Athletics Hall of Fame will induct two athletes and two teams for the 2019-2020 academic year. Volleyball player Cassy (Felkerson) Haddox and Football player Eric Howe along with the 1997 men’s soccer team and the 1972 men’s track and field team are set to be enshrined this year.

Haddox and Howe will be honored at the Alumni & Friends Banquet during homecoming. The two teams will be enshrined on a later date to be determined. 

 Haddox was a first team All-American during her time at Truman, the first volleyball player to receive that honor. In 2001 she was named Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association MVP and led the Bulldogs to a record of 37-2. They made it to the quarter finals of the NCAA tournament that season. 

Haddox ranks tenth in Bulldog’s history in kills with 1268 and seventh in blocks with 471. She was also a three time All-District academic selection. 

Howe was quarterback for the Bulldogs from 1998-2001 and is the Bulldog’s career leader in passing touchdowns, passing yards, total offense and completions. His 9,027 career passing yards were good for second all-time in Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association history when his Bulldog’s career ended. 

One of the signature moments in Howe’s career was when he led the Bulldogs on a fourth quarter upset at Northwest Missouri State University in 2001. 

The 1997 Men’s soccer team broke through that year with a trip to the semi-finals of the NCAA tournament. They went 16-6 that year and won a share of the MIAA championship. They won an at large bid into the NCAA tournament. They played well in the tournament but their season was ultimately ended by the eventual champion California State Bakersfield 2-0 in the semifinals. 

Seven members of the 1972 Men’s track and field team were named All-Americans. They won all events of the MIAA championships both indoors and outdoors.  The team placed third in the NCAA championships that year with 43 points trailing only Eastern Michigan and Norfolk College. 

All four inductees will be honored later this year.