TMN wins national college media awards

Truman State student media are the recipients of two national awards for excellence in media. The “Best of Show” awards were announced during the Associated Collegiate Press/College Media Association fall convention in Austin, Texas, Nov. 1.

The Truman Media Network news and entertainment website  received third-place honors in the small university category. Detours magazine was honored with a fourth-place award in the feature magazine category.

Five Truman students attended the fall convention — Grace Bueckendorf, Kathleen Gatliff, Austin Hornbostel, Sara Hettel and Mary Tomlinson. All are affiliated with TMN. Two faculty media advisers, Don Krause and Mark Smith, accompanied the students to the convention.